A Busy Heart and Soul…

Well, once I again, I find myself sitting down to write and realizing that it has been wayyy too long.  Again.  And, once again, I find myself apologizing and making hopeful promises (which hopefully I will keep more faithfully this time) to write more often.

What’s my excuse for this complete negligence of my teensy piece of internet real estate?  Oh, the usual… I’ve been super busy, and life’s been crazy, it’s the Christmas season… blah, blah, blah…  Now don’t get me wrong, all of that is true, and not even bad excuses, but, in the midst of a hectic schedule and similarly clouded brain, I’ve been realizing that I have more control over my scatteredness than I realize, or perhaps even want to realize…

I was reading a book called ‘The Praying Life’ by David Paulison a little while ago (AMAZING book by the way!  Seriously, one of the best I’ve ever read besides the Bible… I very much recommend it!) and I came across a quote that has stuck with me ever since.

‘It’s okay to have a busy life.  It’s crazy to have a busy soul.’

When I read it, I was definitely convicted, because I have the tendency to let the state of my soul match my circumstances… which, quite often, tends to make it… busy.  Which, if I think about it, makes NO sense!  I mean, the lyrics to one of my favorite hymns ever, declare beautifully that ‘…whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, it is well, it is well with my soul.’  And as long as I’m letting my circumstances toss me around like a kite in a stormy sky, then I’m not embracing the promise my Savior has given me of a peaceful heart.  Because of His love and sacrifice for me, the peace of my soul is completely independent of my circumstances.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” – John 14:27.

The state of my soul may be independent of my life, but the state of my life is dependent on the state of my soul, which is directly dependent on my relationship to my heavenly Father, and daily surrender to Him!

My encouragement and challenge and prayer to and for all of you is that you would come before God and pray that the state of your soul would not match your circumstances.  Pray that He would be the Master in your heart, mind, soul, and life so that you can honestly say, ‘it is well with MY soul…’

A very Merry (and peaceful!) Christmas to you all!  = )

One response

Leave a Reply

